DATABASES

 

Novelist

Find fiction titles based on favorite author, title or description. Browse lists based on genre or awards, search by subject heading, reviews, publishers.

View Novelist database >

 

Novelist graphic

 
 

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

LRC includes: plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, full text of literary journals, author biographies, book reviews, author interviews and images of key literary figures. LRC also includes full text of selected classic and contemporary poems and short stories and classic novels. As reference material, LRC includes full text of a number of literary encyclopedia and guides.

View Literary Reference Center database >

 

 
 

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

View Science Reference Center database >

 

 
 

Novelist K-8

NoveList K-8, a fiction database, is designed with a bright, appealing layout, designed especially for elementary and middle schools. The “Working with Kids” section of the Browse panel on the homepage provides a single location to access all of the curricular materials such as our Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Picture Book Extenders and more.

Novelist K-8 graphic

 
 

World Book

World Book Online Reference Center is the premier online encyclopedia, the source containing every article from the 22 volume print set plus thousands more.

View World Book database >

 

 
 

CultureGrams

Country and State information including maps.

View Culturegrams >

 

 
  Issues & Controversies in American History

Issues & Controversies in American History brings history to life, not as a mere recitation of names and dates, but as a series of turning points where the future hung in the balance and opinions rages on all sides. This database gives a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped the United States by exploring the  issues as key players saw them.

View Issues & Controversies in American History >


 
  A to Z Maps

World's largest database of maps including world, continent, country, state, political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.

View A to Z Maps >

 

 

 
 

Living Green

Explore the world's ecosystems, recycling and environmental issues.

View Living Green >

 

 
 

Inventions & Discoveries

Explore the impact of inventions and discoveries that continue to shape our world today.

View Inventions & Discoveries >

 

 
 
  Magazine Articles & Reference Materials -
eLibrary and Infotrac

Databases of magazine and newspaper articles along with reference materials provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners. Additional databases are available on the library computers.

View the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners databases >



Click here for magazines and newspapers from home or office.

 
 

Footnote

FOR HISTORY & GENEALOGY BUFFS- The collections feature documents, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more
Register for free at home to search topics or come into the library for full access including printing out of Premium images and documents.

View Footnote database >

   
 

Heritage Quest

Search for ancestors in the complete set of U.S. Census records from 1790-1930, including name indexes for many years. Find information on people and places described in over 24,000 family and local histories.

View HeritageQuestOnline >

   
 

Learning Express

LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

View Learning Express >

 

 

 
 

Need an answer to a reference question?

View the Internet Public Library >

IPL

 

 

Home fiskepl@hotmail.com home